Skip to content

Contact: Ross Soboleff, (907) 465-1611, cell (907) 321-3838

Susan Morgan, (907) 269-4996, Cell (907) 632-6107

Governor’s Emergency Medical Service Awards announced

Printer Friendly Copy (PDF, 61KB)

Anchorage, Alaska —The Governor's Annual Awards for Emergency Medical Services, sponsored by the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services, were announced at the opening session of the annual State EMS Symposium on Friday, Nov. 9, and will be presented the evening of Nov.10 at the 30 th Annual Alaska EMS Awards Banquet at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage. Award recipients are:

  • EMS Citizen Award : Matthew and Cindi Hopwood of Eielson AFB, for their essential actions and interventions at the scene of a mass casualty motor vehicle accident on the Seward Highway.
  • EMS Provider of the Year Award: Victoria Erickson of Nome, in recognition of her 15 years of exemplary and selfless service to the community of Nome and the Norton Sound.
  • EMS Educator Award: Jan Dick of Fairbanks, for his 30 years of service to Alaska EMS and the critical link he provides to EMS education in rural Alaska communities.
  • EMS Administrator Award : V alerie DeFrance of Hope, in recognition of her 20 years of service as a provider, administrator and educator, and her dedication to her community, students and the EMS profession.
  • George H. Longenbaugh Memorial Award: Jennifer Dow, M.D., of Girdwood, for her tireless efforts in enhancing outdoor emergency medicine in Alaska.
  • Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award: Tom Bailey, RN, of Anchorage, in recognition of his improvement and enhancement of the EMS system by providing the highest degree of training to his flight team members and the communities he serves.
  • Outstanding Ambulance Service Award: Fire Chief William Chadwick and the Girdwood Fire Department in recognition of the agency’s dedicated service to the community since 1974.

The Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services special commendations:

  • BJ Coopes, M.D., Deborah Lerner, M.D., and Robert Smith II, M.D., all of Anchorage, for their dedication and commitment to EMS and the advancement of high quality pediatric pre-hospital education, and for Dr. Lerner’s voluntary provision of medical assistance to Barrow during a severe outbreak of pediatric respiratory illness.