What is Denali KidCare?
Denali KidCare is a State of Alaska program to ensure that children and teens of both working and non-working families can have the health insurance they need.
Denali KidCare provides excellent health insurance coverage for children and teens through age 18, and for pregnant women who meet income guidelines.
What are the services and benefits?
Well care for your child or teen is important to prevent disease, find and treat problems early, and maintain good health. Denali KidCare children and teens receive the full range of prevention and treatment services such as:
- Doctor's visits
- Health check-ups & screenings
- Vision exams & eyeglasses
- Dental checkups, cleanings & fillings
- Hearing tests & hearing aids
- Speech therapy
- Physical therapy
- Mental health therapy
- Substance abuse treatment
- Chiropractic services
- Foot doctor's services
- Hospital care
- Laboratory tests
- Prescription drugs
- Medical transportation
- Alaska Medicaid Recipient Handbook
Will there be any cost?
There is no cost for eligible children, teens and pregnant women. However, youth who are 18 years-old may be required to share a limited amount of the cost for some services.
Who is eligible?
You will have to apply to know for sure. Generally, you may be eligible if:
- You are a child or youth age 18 or younger; or
- You are pregnant and can provide proof of pregnancy from your health care provider; and
- You live in Alaska, and
- Your family income meets the guidelines.
How much money can my family make and still be eligible?
Denali KidCare income guidelines are based on family size. For example, if you have four members in your family, and your income does not exceed $3,766/month, you may qualify for Denali KidCare. It's best to apply, but call Denali KidCare to ask about the income guidelines.
Do assets count for eligibility?
No. Your family car, house, and other property assets do not affect your eligibility.
What if my children or I am covered by Indian Health Service?
Children, teens and pregnant women covered by Indian Health Service may still be eligible.
What if my children already have health insurance?
This program is primarily for individuals without health insurance. However, if your family income is quite low, your children with health insurance may still be eligible for Denali KidCare. You must declare current health insurance on the application. There is a 12-month waiting period for most children whose family voluntarily becomes uninsured.
How long does it take to get coverage?
Federal and state law require that applications be processed within 30 days. However, once the application is received in the Denali KidCare office, every effort is made to determine eligibility within 10 days to 2 weeks.
How will I be notified if my children or I am eligible?
Each child enrolled will receive a Denali KidCare Card in the mail with instructions. Pregnant women will receive peel-off stickers in the mail with instructions.
Is the application process complicated?
No. The application is short, and no interview is required. If you have any difficulty, call the Denali KidCare office for assistance.
How do I apply for my children or myself?
Simply fill out a Denali KidCare application, sign it, attach the required documentation, and mail it to the Denali KidCare office. You may also fax the application and documentation to 1-855-769-0986.
If I don't have an application, how do I get one?
You may click here to download an application (you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this application) or you may call Denali KidCare at the number below and we will mail you an application or tell you where to pick one up, if you prefer.
Where do I call to ask any questions or to request an application?
269-6529 (Anchorage Area)
1-888-318-8890 (Toll Free Outside Anchorage)