Skip to content
Kodiak Panoramic photo 

Health Facilities Licensing & Certification


Health Facilities Licensing and Certification is a unit within the Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Health Care Services. The units team is comprised of health facility surveyors (Registered Nurses), life safety surveyors (certified fire inspectors), and support staff.

This team inspects health facilities across the state to determine whether they meet state and federal standards. In addition, the team investigates complaints made against health facilities and agencies licensed or certified under our program. The purpose of the inspections is to determine a health care provider's ability to give services which are safe and of an acceptable quality.

Horizontal rule (ornamental) 

Important information:

**Updated 11/15/2019
** The current State licensing period for all facilities runs July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020 unless otherwise noted for facilities currently on a provisional license.
Provider Updates:
If the information on our list for your facility is incorrect, please email the information to us at

Horizontal rule (ornamental) 

Program Areas

Our office is responsible to license and certify health facilities throughout the state of Alaska. We license and/or certify the following types of facilities: 

  • Hospitals
  • Skilled Nursing Facilities
  • Ambula​tory Surgery Centers
  • Hospice
  • Outpatient Physical Therapy Providers
  • Rural Health Clinics
  • Freestanding Birth Centers
  • Home Health
  • Frontier Extended Stay Clinics
  • End Stage Renal Disease Facilities

Certification takes part through an agreement with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) for those facilities who take part in the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs.