Skip to content

Informed Alaskans

Alaska BRFSS Health Profiles: Geography

Geographic systems:

The Alaska BRFSS health profiles are available according to both federally defined and local administrative geographic systems. The systems are organized from a small number of large regional units down to a larger number of localized areas.

Federally Defined Units:

  • Alaska Public Health Regions
  • Alaska Public Health Regions are based upon the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s six Labor Market Areas: Anchorage and Mat-Su, Gulf Coast, Interior, Northern, Southeast, and Southwest.

  • Alaska Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Areas
  • There are two metropolitan statistical areas (MSA) and three micropolitan statistical areas (μSAs) in Alaska. The Anchorage metropolitan statistical area is composed of the Municipality of Anchorage and the Matanuska-Susitna Borough. The Anchorage MSA is reported by its constituent parts. For data based upon the combined Anchorage MSA, see the Anchorage and Mat-Su region in the Alaska Public Health Regions. The Fairbanks MSA and the three μSAs are each composed of single boroughs. The boroughs and census areas outside of the metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas are considered rural. The BRFSS health profiles are reported according to the seven areas.

  • Alaska Boroughs/Census Areas
  • Boroughs/Census Areas are the 19 boroughs and 10 US Census Bureau-defined census areas. These two systems have been aggregated into 29 geographic units which correspond to post-2013 census area definitions.

Alaska-Defined Administrative Areas:

  • Behavioral Health Systems Regions
  • Behavioral Health Systems has divided Alaska into 10 reporting regions of at least 20,000 population for assessment purposes, which is in compliance with HIPAA Privacy Rule for public dissemination of number of individuals who received behavioral health services.