Skip to content

Quality Assurance Unit

In the Division of Senior and Disabilities Services (DSDS), the Quality Assurance Unit works to ensure the health and welfare of recipients through the monitoring and oversight of services to participants and their families. Unit staff conduct case record reviews, oversee critical incident reporting, review mortalities, conduct complaint investigations and monitor and report on data.

The Quality Assurance Unit strives to provide technical assistance as needed, deliver excellent customer service, and to collaborate with stakeholders and other DHSS agencies to meet our Division’s mission of promoting health, well-being and safety for individuals by facilitating access to quality services.

The Quality Assurance Unit is responsible for the following activities:

  • Case Record Review of Medicaid Waiver Participants
  • Critical Incident Report Review, Investigations, Remediation and Reporting
  • Mortality Review, Investigations, and Reporting
  • Investigation of  participant related complaints and noncompliance
  • Critical Incident Report (CIR) Investigation as related to system compliance
  • Quality Monitoring Reporting for system improvement activities

 

Quality Assurance Unit Staff Contacts

    Meg Sampson – Unit Manager, Health Program Manager III
    Meg.Sampson@alaska.gov, 269-3969
    Manages and oversees all functions of the Quality Assurance unit.

Screening and Investigations

    Vacant – Health Program Manager II
    Supervises QA investigators, incident screeners, mortality reviews and provides technical assistance.

    Gina Agron – Health Program Manager II,
    Gina.Agron@alaska.gov, 334-0889
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting

    Jackie Christensen – Health Program Manager II,
    Jacquelyn.christensen@alaska.gov, 269-4742
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance, and quality monitoring reporting.

    Karen Engstrom – Health Program Manager II
    Karen.Engstrom@alaska.gov, 269-3658
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Killian Holden – Heath Program Manager II
    Killian.Holden@alaska.gov, 269-0932
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Christina Kent – Health Program Manager II
    Christina.Kent@alaska.gov, 754-3547
    Complaint investigations, technical assistance and quality monitoring reporting.

    Jordyn Grant – Health Program Manager II
    Jordyn.Grant@alaska.gov, 269-6778
    Temporarily assisting with Mortality Reviews, Incident report screening, investigations related to incident reports and technical assistance.

Service Authorization

    Bonnie Olsen-Lee – Health Program Manager II
    Bonnie.Olsen-Lee@alaska.gov, 269-4134
    Supervises Service Authorization staff, technical assistance, utilization reviews and reporting

    Carrie Crouse – Health Program Associate
    Carrie.Crouse@alaska.gov, 269-3048
    Service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Ladda Frazier – Medicaid Program Specialist III
    Ladda.Frazier@alaska.gov, 269-3651
    Temporarily assisting with service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Lori Gaetzman – Health Program Associate
    Lori.Gaetzman@alaska.gov, 269-3451
    Service authorizations, utilization review and technical assistance.

    Melissa Mosier – Medical Program Specialist I
    Melissa.Mosier@alaska.gov, 269-5025
    Temporarily assisting with Incident report screening, technical assistance, service authorizations and utilization review.

    Donna Heilman – Office Assistant II
    Donna.Heilman@alaska.gov, 268-4450
    Unit Support

Fair Hearings, Mediations and Appeals

Electronic Visit Verification

Resources